Skip to content

Inspiration in boot form

November 14, 2010

Since I got my custom-made dream closet and I finally can see all of the clothing that I own, I can finally accessorize my outfits and see what clothing that I actually own.   Shockingly, my need for buying new items has diminished because I have lots of interesting pieces that I don’t get to wear and I have rediscovered.  I’m actually placing some of these items in rotation and feeling like I have new purchases.  One item that I knew that I didn’t have that I felt that I needed to purchase in order to update my fall/winter wardrobe is lace-up boots.  I wanted something low-heeled and practical that were military-inspired yet still feminine.  The shoes that I found that fit this bill are high-end–in the $900 range.  I wasn’t ready to give Prada or Stella McCartney that kind of money so I was thrilled when I ran into this Deena & Ozzy Tread Boot at Urban Outfitters, which I recently profiled my new respect for early this month. This boot is actually comfortable with a walkable heel and is a perfect mixture of ruggedness and girlyness.

Ever since I purchased the boot, I have been inspired to put together innovative new outfits and I attribute this new-found creativity to my fab new boots.  So far I have paired the boots with a short, ruffled layered skirt with burgundy tights and a sheer, beige pullover.  I wore a more casual look with dark J. Brand skinny jeans with layered olive-green socks worn like leg warmers with a blue plaid shirt and a gray scoop neck sweater.  This look was perfect for going to lunch with a good friend.  My most recent look involved the boots with a brown plaid shirt dress and my olive-green socks over Wolford opaque wool tights.  To me, somehow these looks channel a grownup Angela Chase but are still very Fall 2010.  I can’t wait to see what I else these boots might inspire.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa B permalink
    November 16, 2010 6:59 am

    Hey! What up with the buckles on your boot!

Leave a comment